How Many State Capitals Are Named After Presidents?


Answers ( 2 )


    How Many State Capitals Are Named After Presidents?

    As Americans, it’s no surprise that we tend to name a lot of places after former presidents. From cities to military bases, many locations have been named in honor of former U.S. presidents. But did you know that some state capitals are also named after presidents? In this blog post, we will explore the answer to this question: How many state capitals are named after presidents? We’ll look at the history and meaning behind each name and discover which states have chosen presidential-inspired names for their capitals. So read on to find out more!

    Washington, D.C

    Washington, D.C., is named after George Washington, the first U.S. president. The city is located on the Potomac River and serves as the federal capital of the United States.

    Lincoln, Nebraska

    Lincoln, Nebraska is the capital of Nebraska and is named after Abraham Lincoln, who was the 16th president of the United States. Lincoln was born in Kentucky and later moved to Illinois, where he practiced law and became involved in politics. He was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1846 and served one term before resigning to run for the U.S. Senate. He lost his Senate bid but went on to win the presidential election in 1860. Lincoln served as president from 1861 until 1865, when he was assassinated by John Wilkes Booth.

    Jackson, Mississippi

    Jackson, Mississippi is named after President Andrew Jackson. He was the seventh president of the United States and served from 1829 to 1837. Jackson was born in 1767 in the Carolinas and died in 1845 at his plantation in Tennessee. He was a general during the War of 1812 and is considered one of the founders of the Democratic Party.

    Jefferson City, Missouri

    Jefferson City, Missouri is named after Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United States. Jefferson was a Founding Father and a key figure in early American history. He served as governor of Virginia and as Minister to France before becoming President. As President, Jefferson oversaw the Louisiana Purchase and sent the Lewis and Clark Expedition westward to explore the new territory. He also authored the Declaration of Independence.

    Jefferson City was founded in 1821 as Missouri’s first state capital. The city is located on the Missouri River, making it an important hub for transportation and commerce. Today, Jefferson City is home to over 40,000 residents and is a thriving center for government, industry, and culture.

    Reagan, Texas

    Reagan, Texas is named for John Henninger Reagan, the 10th governor of Texas. Reagan was born in Tennessee and moved to Texas in 1837. He served in the Republic of Texas Senate from 1839 to 1841. He was elected governor in 1857 and served one two-year term. Reagan opposed secession, but once Texas seceded, he served as a colonel in the Confederate Army. After the Civil War, he returned to politics and served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1875 to 1887. He died in Austin, Texas in 1905.

    Hoover, Alabama

    Hoover, Alabama is named after Herbert Hoover, the 31st president of the United States. Hoover served as president from 1929 to 1933, during the Great Depression. He was born in Iowa and raised in Oregon. After graduating from Stanford University, he worked in mining and engineering. He later became a successful businessman and was appointed as the U.S. Secretary of Commerce by President Warren G. Harding. Hoover is best known for his handling of the Great Depression. He was elected president in 1928 and served one term.

    Clinton, Arkansas

    Clinton, Arkansas is one of four state capitals named after former presidents. The city was originally named Belle Point, but it was renamed in 1836 in honor of DeWitt Clinton, the governor of New York from 1817 to 1822. Clinton is the county seat of Van Buren County and has a population of around 9,000 people. The city is home to two colleges, Hendrix College and Central Baptist College. Notable landmarks include the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and the Museum of Van Buren County History.

    Coolidge, Arizona

    Coolidge, Arizona is named for President Calvin Coolidge. The city was originally known as Sumner, but was renamed in 1930 to honor the 30th president. Coolidge is located in Pinal County and has a population of about 5,000. The city is home to several businesses and organizations, including the Coolidge Chamber of Commerce, Coolidge Unified School District, and Pinal Partnership.

    Harding, Ohio

    Harding, Ohio is named after President Warren G. Harding. The city was founded in 1815 and was originally known as Hardin. When Warren G. Harding was elected president in 1920, the city council voted to change the name of the city to Harding in his honor.

    FDR, New York

    FDR, New York

    Franklin Delano Roosevelt was the 32nd president of the United States and one of the most influential figures in American history. He was born in New York City in 1882 and died in 1945. Roosevelt is best known for his leadership during the Great Depression and World War II. He also helped to found the United Nations.

    The capital of New York, Albany, is named after Albany native and British royal governor Edmund Andros. However, many state buildings and landmarks are named after Roosevelt, including FDR Memorial State Park, FDR Drive, and Roosevelt Island.


    With so many state capitals named after Presidents, it is clear that America has always respected the leaders of its past. Knowing the names of all eight states with a capital bearing a president’s name can be quite impressive to your friends and family, as well as any trivia buffs out there. It also provides us with an opportunity to honor our presidents for their legacy and remind us of what true leadership looks like.


    🤔 Have you ever wondered how many state capitals are named after presidents? It’s an interesting topic to explore and can be quite surprising.

    The United States has 50 states, each with its own state capital. Out of these 50, 10 are named after presidents. These 10 are: Washington, DC; Madison, Wisconsin; Jefferson City, Missouri; Jackson, Mississippi; Lincoln, Nebraska; Monroe, Louisiana; Adams, Massachusetts; Harrison, Indiana; Madison, Indiana; and Johnson City, Tennessee.

    The first president to have a state capital named after him was George Washington, when Washington, DC was created in 1790. The first state capital to be named after a president was Madison, Wisconsin, which was named after the fourth president, James Madison, in 1836.

    The most recent state capital to be named after a president is Johnson City, Tennessee, which was named after President Andrew Johnson in 1869.

    It’s fascinating to think that 10 out of 50 state capitals are named after U.S. presidents. It’s a testament to the lasting legacy of our nation’s leaders and the impact they have had on our nation and its people.

    🤔 So the next time you’re wondering how many state capitals are named after presidents, now you know the answer – 10!

Leave an answer